Apr 18, 2012

Gunther Laukien Prize 2012 for DNP

The Gunther Laukien Prize for 2012 is awarded to Klaes Golman and Jan Henrik Ardenkjaer-Larsen for the conception, development, and application of dissolution-DNP NMR. This remarkable technique is capable of enhancing nuclear polarization by several orders of magnitude and provides access to a panacea for new spectacular applications that have been, so far, inconceivable because of a lack of signal strength. The method starts with Dynamic Nuclear Polarization (DNP) of the solidified sample at very low temperature in the presence of a radical, such as trityl, by microwave irradiation. Up to 65% 13C polarization can be achieved. Further information can be found here.